(clockwise from top left): Good Doctor, Empress Ki, Jeong Do-Jeon

The organizing committee for the ‘9th ‘ has recently released its final list of nominees

The ‘Seoul International Drama Awards’ will be holding its 9th edition this year, with entries coming from free-to-air and cable television networks.

# Most number of submitted entries ever, ‘‘ nominated for 3 major awards

209 entries from fifty countries were submitted for selection, and it has set a new record for having the most entries in the 9th iteration of the awards ceremony. After preliminary rounds, 24 entries and 28 staff/performers have been named as the final nominees in the various categories.

Among them, Joo Won and Moon Chae Won’s KBS 2TV drama ‘‘ was the only Korean drama nominated for Mini-series. ‘Good Doctor’ tells the story of a man who has a developmental disorder but possesses genius surgeon skills as he works in the pediatric department of a hospital, while fighting societal prejudices and also finding love. The drama will do battle against American dramas like ‘Homeland’ Season 3, ‘Orphan Black’, and others.

For the serial drama category, MBC TV ‘‘ and KBS 1TV ‘Jeong Do-Jeon’ were both nominated, and they will do battle against Norwegian national drama ‘Hotel Caesar’, Turkish drama ‘Medcezir’, Taiwanese drama ‘The Wish of My Heart’, and others. ‘Jeong Do-Jeon, ‘Mammon’, and French drama ‘My Son’s Murderer Will Die Tonight’ were also nominated for Best Actor, Best Serial Drama, and Best Screenwriter awards.

The Best Actor and Actress awards will also be fiercely contested. For the Best Actor category, Benedict Cumberbatch who has high popularity in Korea thanks to his role in British drama ‘Sherlock’ Season 3′, Guy Pearce of ‘Jack Irish: Dead Point’, and others will compete for the honour, but it was a pity that no Korean actors got nominated. But for the Best Actress award, Ha Ji Won of ‘Empress Ki’ and Kim Hee Ae of ‘My Secret Love Affair’ will represent Korea and hopefully bring home the award for the home nation

The ‘Seoul International Drama Awards’ will be held at the National Theater of Korea on September 4th, and will be broadcast live through SBS TV.

Meanwhile, Israeli drama ‘Prisoners of War season 2’ won the Grand Prize last year, while Spanish drama ‘Grand Hotel season 2’ won Best Serial Drama. SBS TV drama ‘The Chaser’ was the only Korean drama to win last year, as it picked up the Silver Bird Prize for Serial Drama. Last year’s Best Actor went to Lee Moon Sik for ‘Sangkwon’, while Lucy Liu won Best Actress for ‘Elementary’. The Outstanding Korean Actor and Actress awards went to Lee Jun Ki and Bae Suzy respectively.

By: Han Ye Ji